C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Removing my auto trans

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2017, 11:50 PM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Removing my auto trans

I have my engine out and my trans supported by a lift, still in the car. I want to remove the trans but this is my first time. Can anyone give me a quick run down on the simplest way to get it out?

Being that it's on a scissor lift, can it be dropped still filled with fluid?

Any issues with cooler lines and dipstick?

Last edited by Powerstroked89; 06-25-2017 at 11:51 PM.
Old 06-26-2017, 12:26 AM
383vett
Race Director

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,042 Posts

Very easy at this point. Disconnect the cooler lines and the electrical connector. Drop the front of the tranny down a couple of inches, unbolt the dipstick tube and pull the dipstick tube out of the tranny. Remove the 2, 18mm head bolts holding the crossbeam to the tranny, lower the front slightly and the tranny will come out. The driveshaft will slide out of the tail shaft housing. Don't let the converter come out or you will lose a little fluid. If you do, not a big deal.
Old 06-26-2017, 12:44 AM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

Originally Posted by 383vett
Very easy at this point. Disconnect the cooler lines and the electrical connector. Drop the front of the tranny down a couple of inches, unbolt the dipstick tube and pull the dipstick tube out of the tranny. Remove the 2, 18mm head bolts holding the crossbeam to the tranny, lower the front slightly and the tranny will come out. The driveshaft will slide out of the tail shaft housing. Don't let the converter come out or you will lose a little fluid. If you do, not a big deal.
Thank you! I appreciate it.
Old 06-26-2017, 10:57 AM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

So I don't know if I mentioned it or not, the trans wasn't drained prior to all of this. so I slowly removed the dipstick and boy did I get a surprise