C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Can Fuel Injectors "Short Out"?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2018, 09:16 AM
Triple Black 88
Burning Brakes

Received 61 Likes on 39 Posts

Default Can Fuel Injectors "Short Out"?

I have an 88 Corvette and last week while driving home, it stalled while driving and wouldn't start back up. Had it towed to my local shop who said they believe the injectors "shorted out" and they would need to replace them. I'm not a mechanic but can this happen? Can all 8 just short out? Like I said, I'm not a mechanic, so I'm not sure what to do or what questions to ask. I've been going to this shop for over 10 yrs without any issues. I'm sure they checked fuel pressure, spark, etc...

Any ideas or advice?
Thanks
Old 07-09-2018, 09:45 AM
VikingTrad3r
Oil Producer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,262 Likes on 1,446 Posts

yes. ask for him to show you the resistance readings from all injectors. resistance levels should all be the same. Plus or minus.
Old 07-09-2018, 09:47 AM
VikingTrad3r
Oil Producer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,262 Likes on 1,446 Posts

in other words it's not something you believe. It's something that you have done a 10 minute test on. you have results. Data.

if they have not done the resistance test on the injectors I'd walk away from this mechanic. He's trying to hose you.

do you have a forum member close by to you to at least get a diagnostic on what the underlying problem is? Then you could take it to a local Corvette repair house. That's always the best week if you are not a DIY repair.

Last edited by VikingTrad3r; 07-09-2018 at 09:47 AM.
Old 07-09-2018, 09:49 AM
NavAir
Racer

Received 80 Likes on 52 Posts