C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

89 convertible AC

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2019, 08:35 AM
BillDurant
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 78 Likes on 66 Posts
Default 89 convertible AC

I'm in Florida so summer approaching. My car in no way blows enough cool air to drive in the summer here so I drive the truck. . I'm not a mechanic and feel ac systems are complicated but my question is possible there's something wrong with my system or in fact was the OEM system never enough for hot states?
Old 04-20-2019, 10:14 AM
aklim
Team Owner

Received 2,225 Likes on 1,939 Posts

Originally Posted by BillDurant
I'm in Florida so summer approaching. My car in no way blows enough cool air to drive in the summer here so I drive the truck. . I'm not a mechanic and feel ac systems are complicated but my question is possible there's something wrong with my system or in fact was the OEM system never enough for hot states?
IMO, the issue is that it might have been changed to R134A which isn't as efficient as R12. It keeps up until we get to hot humid days in stop and go traffic. Best you can do is clean the radiator and AC Condenser since it picks up all kinds of trash, flush the coolant, get the system professionally looked at.
Old 04-20-2019, 11:07 AM
BillDurant
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 78 Likes on 66 Posts

Thanks I'm going to have it looked at but possibly something more modern installed just doesn't seem to blow enough air
we will check what you suggested first. I do know there a vent door under the dash that doesn't work well keeps blowing air to windshield and threw dash when I hit Auto it blows harder but not enough stil l
Old 04-20-2019, 11:51 AM
ctmccloskey
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,103 Likes on 875 Posts

Hello there BillDurant,