C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine
View Poll Results: How to Proceed
Buy Pre-Remanufactured Cylinder Heads
0%
Have a Shop Rebuild My Cylinder Heads
100.00%
Replace the Engine Block
0%
Sell the C4 for Parts and get a Hyundai
0%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Hydrocarbons in Coolant Reservoir

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2024, 10:06 PM
Deanhinton
5th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hydrocarbons in Coolant Reservoir

Good Evening Corvette Geniuses!

I’m new to Corvettes and have a conundrum ya’ll may be able to help with. I’ll put the car specs at the bottom of the post. Thank you for looking at this post!

My 1995 C4 LT1 was overflowing coolant when I would take off the reservoir cap with engine running. Took it to the shop and they tested the coolant and found hydrocarbons in the coolant. They suggested it could be a bad head gasket or cracked block and I should do a head gasket replacement.

Now I have the cylinder heads off and don’t know what I’m looking for. I don’t see any obvious signs that the gasket was damaged and leaking exhaust into a coolant passage. Would it be better to get newly rebuilt heads for about $450 each or have someone rebuild and resurface my heads?

Is there a way to test the engine block integrity before I put everything back together? Or just put new heads and gaskets on (with new bolts) and see if the problem persists?

specs:
1995 corvette base
96,000 miles
It Sat for 15 years not running before replacing fuel pump, filter, injectors, plugs, wires and getting it running again.
Didn’t overheat, but only ran it 5 miles at a time so it may have if I drove it longer.

If it helps with troubleshooting, When removing the head bolts, coolant came out of the lower front and rear cylinder head bolts on the passenger side after “completely” draining the system. I don’t know if that can happen or not in a good system.

Photos are: