C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Changing synthetic oil.

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2001, 01:05 AM
Racer-X
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I once heard you change synthetic oil every 10,000 mi.
Dose that sound right?
Old 08-02-2001, 01:17 AM
Steve85
Melting Slicks

Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Cruise-In V Veteran

I'm no expert but I would have to disagree for our Vettes. I read somewhere that Mobil was commissioned to develop an oil that could withstand the high temps and hard working nature of the engines thus eliminating the need for an oil cooler. High temps were a means of reducing emissions. So given the stress on the oil in Vette engines, 10K is too much. If your oil is black and thick when you change it, change it sooner next time.
Old 08-02-2001, 02:51 AM
Togo
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

holy crap....you're supposed to change synthetic oil??????

just kidding.
i realize that its quite a bit more expensive, but shouldn't you still change it like regular oil (intervals i mean) i plan on changing mine at 3K
Old 08-02-2001, 06:31 AM
GlockLT4
Team Owner

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I change mine about every 2500 miles. A little more expensive, but I get it at Walmart for a pretty good deal, and I don't mind. Helps keep the engine fresh and gives me a little more piece of mind.

Old 08-02-2001, 07:06 AM
vettenuts
Team Owner

Received 186 Likes on 169 Posts