C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

Re-clear coating original Z

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2024, 02:30 PM
Brandon's Z
Instructor

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re-clear coating original Z

I have a very early 1990 Z that I drive and enjoy. It looks good but has paint pitting from age/wear. Very small pits from usage (wear, tree sap, birds, 35 years of love, etc). Has anyone reclear coated their Z? I have experience reclear coating some paint jobs, but it really depends on the previous paint. I am not an expert on paint, but I have laid down some pretty good work that was color sanding to perfection. Said with a little humility. Let me know if anyone has experience either way. I am not going to go through the effort of repainting my car because my car looks great, but I would love to have the extra flash/pop of a completely flat/recleared paint job. Thoughts
Old 01-17-2024, 01:25 AM
Z51JEFF
Race Director

Received 643 Likes on 420 Posts
2022 C4 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Don't think it's possible with the minor pits. As you know paint flows and as it tries to flow over a pit it will just go around it leaving a pit in the material. I'm not a pro painter but paint small projects and have been around painters most of my life so I do understand the psychics of painting. Last thing I painted was real bumper side trim after an encounter will the garage wall😤
Old 01-17-2024, 12:13 PM
phrogs
Race Director

Received 34 Likes on 22 Posts

without photos of what you have going on its hard to say but You cant just sand it and throw down some clearcoat any base that's been exposed to the sun will need attention and it will most likely require a whole repaint as its been sun damaged go to the paint and body section and ask this there. theres nothing special about a ZR-1 paint it was painted next to all the other C4s going down the line.