Sponsored by:

Shifting Problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2007, 05:33 PM
saw22
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Shifting Problems

Don't blast me. I'm a noob here but I've done a lot of searching over the last day and seem to get slightly mixed information and can't quite find a situation the same as mine. Sorry this is kind of long.

I just bought a 2002 Z06 with 22k miles from another board member and I am very pleased with the car. Picked it up Thursday and developed a big shifting problem with it yesterday. Here's the deal:

I raced a buddy of mine in his intake/exhaust/pulley 03 Cobra from about 60-120 (yes, 2-3 car win for me). So we started in 3rd and I hit 4th pretty hard about 6400 rpm (full-lift shift). End of the race, I slow down, push in the clutch to go to 5th or 6th and the shifter won't come out of 4th. After getting on and off the clutch a few times and pushing like hell, it finally popped out. Then, it wouldn't go into any gear at all. I coasted two miles to the next exit and by the time I got to the exit, I had it in 3rd gear but that was the only one that would work. So, we pull off and talk about what was happening.

Sitting there idling, I can only hit third gear. In fact, the damn shifter wouldn't even go left-right in a neutral position. Eventually, after pumping the clutch, pushing with the shifter, going in/out of third, it will go into other gears. Once you get that done, with the exception of a slight grind going into 4th gear, the car seems normal. If you go back into 3rd gear, then the same thing starts over again. So I either had only 3rd or only the other gears.

The car acted this way on the road, idling, and even with the car off and shifting with or without the clutch. Very same behavior. So we let it cool off about 5 hours. Still acted the same way, though sometimes it would shift through all gears (including 3rd).