Sponsored by:

[Z06] Why 160 degree Thermostat?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2011, 07:16 PM
Kevinwwings2
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why 160 degree Thermostat?

I see them advertised all over the place. The car comes stock with a 190 degree, is there a good reason to replace it with a 160? Is it only something you need for Forced Induction, or does it help prevent a problem? I know there has been issues with the 7 and 8 cyls getting too hot, wondering if this is the easy fix for that?
I am new to vette ownership and looking to prevent as many problems as I can.
Thank you

Kevin
Old 06-20-2011, 07:56 PM
LowNSlow01
Instructor

Looking for some answers on this too, I am on the fence about replacing mine...

Originally Posted by Kevinwwings2
I see them advertised all over the place. The car comes stock with a 190 degree, is there a good reason to replace it with a 160? Is it only something you need for Forced Induction, or does it help prevent a problem? I know there has been issues with the 7 and 8 cyls getting too hot, wondering if this is the easy fix for that?
I am new to vette ownership and looking to prevent as many problems as I can.
Thank you

Kevin
Old 06-20-2011, 08:12 PM
neutron82
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,260 Likes on 1,055 Posts
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (performance mods)
C5 of Year Winner (performance mods) 2019

i'd stick with the stock thermostat... you can manipulate the fan settings to run the car a little cooler when you have it tuned but running it too cool has negative effects just as running it too hot... running it too cool for long periods of time actually increases engine wear and if it doesn't run warm enough the condensation inside the crankcase will not evaporate... installing a 160 thermostat will only make it run cooler while driving, when the car is idling the temp will go back up to the 220 degree range so it's kind of a waste of money imo
Old 06-20-2011, 08:23 PM
LowNSlow01