Sponsored by:

HID flicker - noob question

Old 12-24-2011, 08:34 AM
mcm95403
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 223 Likes on 145 Posts

Default HID flicker - noob question

I recently had yet another fog light burn out, so I figured I'd try a $35 HID kit from ebay:

This is the first time I've had any car with HID's so I'm a noob at this.

Installation was simple enough although the plastic ends to plug onto the fog sockets were wrong. I simply plugged the pins directly into the plug for now till I can get the right weatherpack plugs.

When the lights first power on, they have a BRIGHT white start for maybe a 1/10th of a second and then go down to a significantly reduced output - maybe 20% of that initial flash - with much more of a blue hue. Also, while running they have obvious flicker. If this normal for cheapie kits like this? Did I make some obvious mistake in the install?

Last edited by pewter99; 12-24-2011 at 09:28 AM. Reason: NSV link removed
Old 12-24-2011, 09:02 AM
jbondfl
Melting Slicks

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13-'14

well, your polarity is correct or they wouldn't light at all.
It could be that the "stuck in pin" connections just can't handle the current very well.
Old 12-24-2011, 06:12 PM
m6 c5
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Maybe a lose connection from the improper plugs?
Old 12-24-2011, 07:26 PM
MrGary2011
Burning Brakes

Received 233 Likes on 109 Posts

You get what you pay for!
Old 12-24-2011, 07:57 PM
01magnetic01
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Did the kit come with ballasts....if not that may be your problem. It also sounds like you may have the 6000k lights which will have a bluish tint to them. The bright flash upon startup is common on HIDs.
Old 12-24-2011, 09:10 PM
UncleFodder
Burning Brakes

Received 44 Likes on 25 Posts