Sponsored by:

electrical gremlins

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2017, 11:06 PM
Jake the Snake
Racer

Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts

Default electrical gremlins

Had my 2002 vert for just short of 12 years with very few problems. A couple of batteries and door lock relay. A couple of weeks ago everything electrical went haywire. Did some research, pulled the codes, changed the battery, yes a 78N does fit, thanks for all the responses. That was not the problem. Pulled numerous codes and cleared them. Started checking grounds. Got the ones behind the head lights and by the battery and the ones in the rear wheel wheel. There was no corrosion on the ones I checked. I don't know exactly how to get the sill plate off to get at those (4) grounds on the A and B pillars. Suggestions?

The last few on the engine look like they need to be accessed from below or with the engine pulled. Carpet on the floor and in the foot well is not wet. I did not pull the star connectors. I am not good at standing on my head and they are taped up. The connection in the drivers door was not corroded (did not check the passenger side). I had the seats out this spring for new leather so I checked the drivers side connectors, again no corrosion and the connections looked good.

Battery checked out at 12.56 VDC so I checked codes, and there were none, but there was a clicking sound that seemed to coincide with the security light flashing. Tried to start the car, tach went to zero then OK, no warning lites on. Codes were all "no code" except 60 IPC had B0521H and U1088H. The tachometer circuit malfunction (B0521H) makes sense but U1088 is not on my list. I did get a "low voltage" on the DIC which makes me think grounds or possibly ignition switch. The car would not start after, turned over but no spark.