C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Tuning"

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011, 03:14 PM
NorthEnco
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default "Tuning"

What exactly can someone expect from a "Custom Tune" on a stock
C5 LS1 with an automatic transmission.
The only thing this car has is an older BBN air intake with a K&N type
air filter.
The tuning shop I'm considering has a good reputation and say's that the rework of the " torgue management" will give me a noticeably improvement
in performance.
Since I'm completely new to this I would like any an all input from those
of you who are more we schooled in these matters.
Thanks
Bob
Old 09-22-2011, 03:24 PM
cdkcorvette7
Tech Contributor

Received 19 Likes on 5 Posts

The biggest change in feel since you have an auto trans is the reprogramming of the shift points, firmness and line pressure. Really wakes up the car. The stock programming for the trans is VERY conservative. I've driven a few auto C5's and they all feel very sluggish next to my 6MT, that changes after a tune.

There are adjustments they will likely make to several other tables as well. If the tuner is reputable and the price is right go for it.
Old 09-22-2011, 03:25 PM
mojo1
Team Owner

St. Jude Donor '06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15, '19

I dont think its worth the money for tuning stock, I dont think you will gain anything , but I am not an expert. Gets some headers and high flow cats then tune it ...
edit , I didnt think about shift points as mine is a 6 speed, good point.
Old 09-22-2011, 03:33 PM
NorthEnco
Instructor

Default ok 50-50

OK so far 1 yea, 1 nay.
$280 for the tune down in Sunny Florida.

Any more input?

Please

Bob
Old 09-22-2011, 03:36 PM
cdkcorvette7
Tech Contributor

Originally Posted by NorthEnco
OK so far 1 yea, 1 nay.
$280 for the tune down in Sunny Florida.