C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Z06 Shifter linkage issue/bent fork?

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2017, 02:52 PM
Darkhour55
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Z06 Shifter linkage issue/bent fork?

Hello everyone,

I am new to the corvette forum. Recently purchased a torch red 2003 Z06 with 39,500 miles on it. I live in East Texas, about an hour and 45min from Dallas.

It came with an MGW short throw shifter. Put about 300 miles on it and its been shifting seemingly fine, just hard to move shifter which I attributed to it being a short throw. Last week I unscrewed the ball so it would sit higher and it felt better to me going through the gears, parked in the garage. When I did this it would not go into reverse (still parked in the garage). I thought maybe two teeth are resting on each other and once I get it out of the garage it would be fine. Later that day I took it out for a drive and all gears seemed to shift fine including reverse, went on a country road by my house. Did a third gear pull up to 5000 RPM and quickly shifted into 4th. No audible concerning sound that I could hear but went for 5th and it would not go in. Parked the car and tried going through the gears but will not go into anything other than 4th or neutral.

Had it towed to the local Chevy dealer and just got the bad news. They are telling me the trans and all its parts are discontinued from GM. There are shift forks etc available but it would be O.E. not OEM. They are saying my best option is to put a used trans from a 25,000 mile Z06 and it would cost $5,400 out the door.