C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time tracking.......on national TV

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2008, 02:16 PM
60av8tor
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default First time tracking.......on national TV

What doofus would do such a thing.

I'm your Huckleberry.......

A buddy of mine told me that Speed TV was going to do a shoot at our military base, and invited me to come on down and see all the excitement. He’s got a suped up 2004 Mustang and knows I’m a Vette pilot. I'd been on a boat sunning and funning all day, so I had to drop of the minivan, grab the Vette, and drive like hell to get there in time.

Turns out it was for a show called 'Supercars Exposed', and exposed they were. They were using our taxiway complex as a short course, nothing fancy: two lanes; about a quarter of a mile out on taxiiway Bravo, opposing half 'chicanes' to a straight- about a quarter of a mile back. Watching them go was, amazing. Having just driven up the 405, and being used to being near the top of the automotive foodchain, I was starting to feel a bit......small. Just to name a few, they had two Ford GTs ( a stock 500 and a Hennessey 1000), a new Gallardo Superleggera, a monster Hennessey Viper- boasting 1000 hp), a Brabus V12 something or another, a rebuilt Pantera, a Porsche Carrerra, a few 911 GT3s.....

......and my bone stock 2007 Z51, I got 'lucky'....they allowed me to come in as an add on since I was based there and had my flight ACUs on.