Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] ZO-6 Piston Problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2006, 09:26 PM
Vette5.5
Le Mans Master

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default ZO-6 Piston Problems

As a contract engineer I frequent G.M's Warren, MI tech center, recently driving my new Z. Some tech's are saying the LS-7 motor has junk pistons and are prone to failure. It's quite easy to spot the doom & gloomers(these guys are it). Having assembled several engines myself and toured the Wixom, MI special engine facility, the build quality of our LS-7's is very good. There have been a few reported failures, plus the engine exchange evaluation program. I'm not terribly concerned, especially seeing some owners running their new Z's so hard. These tech's might be a bit gloomy, but do know a few things. I'm keeping mine stock, possibly a few bolt on's, so exceeding the stock warranty design shouldn't be a problem.
Old 04-01-2006, 07:51 AM
yell03
Safety Car

Received 470 Likes on 252 Posts

I am sure they are more than fine for the stock power which is amazing already and besides,

That is why you have a warranty.

My 2001 Viper GTS had cast pistons, and lots of guys I knew threw a blower on and as long as they stayed around 550-650rwhp they were fine

Earlier Vipers had Forged pistons and could be pushed over 800rwhp easily, but where the heck are you gonna use that.

Enjoy your car and don't let the doom and gloomers try to rain on your parade.

Howard
Old 04-01-2006, 08:26 AM
outnumbered
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by yell03
I am sure they are more than fine for the stock power which is amazing already and besides,

My 2001 Viper GTS had cast pistons, and lots of guys I knew threw a blower on and as long as they stayed around 550-650rwhp they were fine