Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Head/valve "Fix" guarantee

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2017, 12:44 PM
exracer28
Drifting

Received 79 Likes on 48 Posts

Default Head/valve "Fix" guarantee

A friend asked me about getting the current "fix" done to his head and wanted to know if any of the shops that are modifying the heads/guides/valves provide any guarantee that the problem is really corrected. I told him I would post the question here but as far as I know there is not a guaranteed fix. I am a retired engineer and when we had a systemic issue there was a formal failure review board process that looked at all the possible contributing influences and provided the results and recommended corrective action to management. I do not expect a shop to perform this analysis and without GMs data it couldn't be accurately perform by an independent outside company. So the question is does any of the shops that advertise a "fix" actually guarantee their "fix" is the correct work? I did call a few places and the only response was we know what we are doing and we don't have any problems but would not commit to a guarantee that a valve issue would not happen again.

My advise to him was that if a shop does not warranty their work just buy a GM extended warranty and if it happens let GM replace the motor. Any better data I get will be passed on to my buddy.
Old 07-12-2017, 12:56 PM
LMB-Z
Le Mans Master

Received 441 Likes on 395 Posts

I'm sure that any shop is not going to warranty that their heads are "fixed". They will warranty that they are a good set of heads.
Old 07-12-2017, 01:27 PM
Unreal
Team Owner

Received 2,313 Likes on 1,793 Posts