C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuning Goals

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2009, 09:47 AM
indyspeed
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tuning Goals

I'm new to tuning... Can someone explain to me what the goal of tuning is (other than the obvious to get more HP)? In other words, are you trying to get the engine to run leaner typically? Can that cause reliability or longevity issues? If you can gain 20-30 HP or so from tuning, why isn't the factory or GM offering custom tunes for Corvettes? My apologies for these basic questions, but before I invest in something like HP Tuners of EFI Live I really want to understand why you would actually tune the car and what side effects that might have.
Old 09-29-2009, 11:10 AM
0ian@thetuningschool
Former Vendor

The goal of tuning is to get the best power out of the car and driveablity. I am not to sure why gm cant tune your car for a extra price, probably to lazy and cost to much money and time. You typically gain 10% from tuning a stock car and can gain 3-5 mpg. The tune from gm is generic tune so that your car will perform the same if you go from Alaska to say Florida or Denver. With tuning you are optimizing your car for your environment.

Ian
Old 09-29-2009, 12:19 PM
TurboLX
Pro

Received 122 Likes on 91 Posts

Originally Posted by ian@thetuningschool
I am not to sure why gm cant tune your car for a extra price, probably to lazy and cost to much money and time.