C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just getting started here.....

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2009, 10:34 PM
chad.orourke
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just getting started here.....

So I had my car tuned by some kid with a laptop and I was marginally impressed with his work. He was however foolish enough to explain a little bit about how he was doing the tuning. Being a Systems Administrator by trade and a hobby mechanic that does most if not all of his own work I have determined I would rather do this myself than pay someone else to do it. I do however have some questions.

1. What is the complete list of purchases I need to make? I have seen tuner packages with the tuner suite and a wide band from tuningschool, but that by no means that is all I need. And yes I have a laptop.

2. Can I plug the wide band o2 into my rear o2 ports in my kooks headers and just leave them there for the life of the car? If so how do you wire the sensor in to the cabin?

3. I would like to have a gauge pod on the A-pillar at some point so if there is a package that will somewhat match a quality boost gauge that would be great as well. If I was to run gauges then which ones should I run with?

All help is appreciated and before you mention it yes I plan to use the home school method with the tuning school.

Thanks again

Chad
Old 10-01-2009, 07:25 AM
Mez
Safety Car

Location: Austin, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Houston, Dallas, Hong Kong, Elgin, etc.. Texas
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by chad.orourke