C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is installing heads a DIY project?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2007, 04:02 PM
jjohn918
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is installing heads a DIY project?

I've never put new heads on a car and wanted to know if it was a DIY kind of job. I am fairly mechanically inclined and do a lot of work on my cars myself (water pumps, alternators, brakes, headers and exhaust etc...). I'm not really afraid to do the job myself, but since I've never done it before, I wanted to find out if it was something that could be accomplished in the typical home garage, or is it something that I should farm out.

Thanks for the help!

Josh
Old 03-02-2007, 04:15 PM
Zig
Safety Car

Location: stafford country, va. Avatar: Me on turn 3 @ Bristol (The World's Fastest Half-Mile)
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

in short, yes.
Old 03-02-2007, 04:21 PM
cbrf4i1
Drifting

Originally Posted by Zig
in short, yes.

Old 03-02-2007, 04:27 PM
timd38
Race Director

Received 182 Likes on 163 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

I would give it a try. I have done it, so it must be doable.
Old 03-02-2007, 04:59 PM
jjohn918
Drifting

Any idea on how long of a process it is. I know that once you do something, you can do it faster in the future, but what's a ballpark figure on time for a first attempt?
Old 03-02-2007, 05:12 PM
Miaugi
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by jjohn918
Any idea on how long of a process it is. I know that once you do something, you can do it faster in the future, but what's a ballpark figure on time for a first attempt?