C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recommend a stroker for me (LS2)

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2011, 02:04 AM
cell6ida
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommend a stroker for me (LS2)

First let me say that I have very little mechanical knowledge, so some of these questions might seem elementary.

I am debating pulling my LS2 and making it into a stroker. When I had a brief discussion with some friends that know a thing or two about strokers, they suggested that I do a 414ci stroker. I’m assuming(?) that is done by purchasing a 403/404 stroker kit with a bigger crank?

Anyway, I’d like to hear some recommendations. Which stroker kit should I look at.

Should I also change my cam to one that would work better with a stroker kit, or is the one that I have a good match? I currently have a 231/235 113.0 cam. If I do change the cam, I am assuming that the labor would be MUCH cheaper than a regular cam swap, since the motor would be apart anyway.

Should I look for different heads. I currently have ETP 225s. I’m assuming that the labor on the heads change would also be cheaper than a normal head swap since the engine would already be apart (?).

I currently put down 476rwhp/425rwtq uncorrected through an A6. What would be a realistic estimated rwhp/rwtq if I went with a 404 or 414 stroker?

Also what disadvantages would I be looking at. I’ve read that I might not be able to take the RPMS as high. Maybe I read that wrong.

Anyone regret doing a stroker?

What would I be looking at as far as an estimated labor charge to pull the engine and put the stroker together, then reassemble? I need an estimated total turnkey price so that the boss can say yea or nay.

Any recommendations/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-11-2011, 06:50 AM
Stang's Bane
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post