C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dual Mode Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 07:21 PM
ittlfly
Safety Car

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Dual Mode Exhaust

Hey Guys,

I'm selling my 94 ZR-1 and stepping into a 2LT 2012 Grand Sport. It is not equipped with the dual mode exhaust. Can that be added without a lot of hassle and do they come up for sale here?

As you can tell I'm brand new to the C-6 stuff having two C-4's (including the Z) since 1992..

Thanks
Old 01-02-2012, 08:01 PM
RicK T
Team Owner

Received 556 Likes on 452 Posts

It can be added but it won't have the automatic functionality of a factory setup.

Assuming you want the dual mode function to work you will need some type of vacuum control system in addition to the mufflers themselves. We have few vendors that sell what is commonly referred to as "NPP in a Box" which will give you a vacuum source hookup and remote manual control. Here are a couple threads to read to get you started:

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-c...st-choice.html

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-c...p-exhaust.html

You also have a choice with the mufflers. You can use the NPP's or Z06 mufflers. The difference is the Z06's are a milder sound.....but even that can be modded by cutting the mufflers open and welding covers over the perforated pipe inside each one. Used Z06 mufflers usually sell for much less than the NPP mufflers. Most folks prefer the NPP's because they are louder and harsher than the Z06's, personal preference. And yes, keep an eye on the Parts section and the auction site, take offs come up for sale fairly often.
Old 01-02-2012, 08:09 PM
RicK T
Team Owner

Received 556 Likes on 452 Posts

Here's another vendor selling the original NPP in a Box system:

http://www.topflightrepro.com/corvet...formance.shtml
Old 01-02-2012, 08:16 PM
wiggins82abn