C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headers/Exhaust/Intake

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2018, 08:24 PM
Hillg2784
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headers/Exhaust/Intake

I just got a really good deal on a corvette, my first and I have some questions. First off is it’s a 2006 base model corvette with auto trans, well equipped but does not have the magnetic ride control. I want to increase power and also give it a nice sounding exhaust.

So now my question. Is it better to get long headers with an axel back exhaust and short ram intake or a cat back exhaust system and short ram intake??

I waslooking at:

-LG motorsports street headers long with the cat
-Bora ATAK exhaust axel back
-Vararam intake

Any and all help would be appreciated, I am brand new with Corvettes and know nothing about them besides being fast and good looking.

Old 12-01-2018, 08:41 PM
Turbo6TA
Race Director

Received 3,066 Likes on 2,073 Posts
2021 C6 of the Year Finalist - Modified

LS2 heads and intake manifold don't breath all that well compared to the better LS3 heads and intake manifold. .... I would get a set of good used LS3 heads and matching LS3 intake manifold for your LS2 engine.

The intake ports are very much different between the LS2 and LS3, so the LS2 head intake ports don't match up with the LS3 intake manifold ports.
Old 12-01-2018, 08:44 PM
Turbo6TA
Race Director

Received 3,066 Likes on 2,073 Posts
2021 C6 of the Year Finalist - Modified

A set of headers is always a very good choice .... Very little, if any, HP gained by changing mufflers unless you just want a different sound.
Old 12-01-2018, 09:04 PM
Hillg2784
6th Gear