Sponsored by:

tire question on DD C7

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2014, 07:44 AM
Kayir
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default tire question on DD C7

I'll preface this by saying that i'm sorry if it's been discussed but I couldn't easily find it by searching. I have a blade silver non-Z51 on order which I plan on using as my daily driver. I wanted the Z51 for the appearance but I don't track the car and don't plan to and so realistically didn't need most of what the Z51 adds. That said I'm not a huge fan of the stock wheels, don't see the machined face as much of an upgrade and personally i'm not a fan of chrome wheels, so I ordered mine with the base wheels. My plan was to powdercoat them black, or maybe to wrap them in carbon fiber, but now i'm thinking I may go the route of aftermarket 19/20 wheels. If I do that i'm in the position of having to choose tires to go with them. Considering i'm going to be using this as a daily driver, I think i would prefer to go with an ultra high performance all season in a wide size (maybe 255 up front and 295 in back) as a good balance between summer where i'll loose a little performance and winter where i'll gain a lot in terms of grip. does anyone have any suggestions on running a C7 on all seasons rather than summer tires? suggestions on sizes or brands? I had general G max as3 on my old S5 and they were great but I don't think they run this wide and i'd also prefer run flats for the whole jack/spare issue. Any thoughts would be appreciated. . .

thanks
M
Old 04-15-2014, 08:35 AM
Seapar
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think there are several ways to go.
You could do as you suggest and modify the wheels.
It also depends on where you live especially in the winter months. Is there a beater car you can drive in dead of winter?
The wider tires are usually not ideal in winter driving. And all seasons is like a utility baseball player. Competent but not a real star compared to a summer high performance tire IMO.