C7 General Discussion General C7 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clay bar.....

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2015, 10:51 PM
themonk
Team Owner

Location: Calgary, AB. There's a reason why white was the only color offered on every year Corvette. Proud Canadian German Jamaican!
Received 1,456 Likes on 799 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09, '12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17

Default Clay bar.....

I bought a clay bar today, do detailing experts think it's too soon to bar my car? It's a 2014, I picked it up Dec 20, 2013, daily driver, never garaged, driven all year 'round and washed probably at least twice a week, 21500 kms about 12600 miles.
Old 04-18-2015, 10:55 PM
Zymurgy

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15,076 Likes on 6,173 Posts

No, it is way past due for a clay bar.
The following users liked this post:
Daviddear30 (05-09-2021)
Old 04-18-2015, 10:57 PM
JDM111er
Pro

Received 51 Likes on 37 Posts

I'm not an expert but, don't some new cars need a clay bar because of over spray?
Old 04-18-2015, 11:02 PM
WesC7
Burning Brakes

Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts

Monk.....

I'm not a detailing expert....but I've always done my own detailing on my Corvettes.

It is never to early to Clay Bar. On all my new Corvettes, I've washed (Dawn soap) and did the Clay Bar as soon as possible after getting my car home. Every 12-18 months I'll clay bar again....just to keep the surfaces clear of contaminates.

I'll be getting my C7 in a few weeks. I've already told my Courtesy Dealer to do his PDI and that's it. Don't wash it....nothing. I'll do all my own detailing. As soon as I get her home it will be a Dawn soap wash....then clay bar.....then a rinse. Then Zaino the heck out of her...
rtruman (05-09-2021)
Old 04-18-2015, 11:07 PM
themonk
Team Owner

Location: Calgary, AB. There's a reason why white was the only color offered on every year Corvette. Proud Canadian German Jamaican!

ok thanks, well I guess I will be doing that tomorrow.