C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LT1 460-480 rwhp

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2018, 06:24 PM
Exia
Burning Brakes

Received 856 Likes on 356 Posts
Default LT1 460-480 rwhp

Hey guys,

I'm contemplating mods in the future, could be as soon this coming spring, could be when my warranty expires, not sure yet. I have a Grand Sport (A8) and think it would be perfect with 530-550 crank hp or 460-480 rwhp. I'm looking to stay NA as I don't want to go over 600 crank (I think its a little too much) and forced induction seems to push these guys well over 600 to start but I understand going forced induction can be a cost effective way to gain hp. This is my first Corvette and I've never done mods before so I'm new to this sort of thing, if anything I've said sounds weird please correct me, I'd love to learn.

I'm assuming a stock Grand Sport A8 making 395rwhp.

CAI
Headers (long tube or mid length? catted or no cats?)
Ported Throttle body
X-pipe
Tune

I would get a baseline dyno first completely stock and then get the above installed and tuned and do a final dyno run to compare. Would the above mentioned get me 60rwhp? Are there any other mods I should consider adding to this list that don't break the bank? What do you all think about long tube vs mid length headers and catted vs no cats in terms of hp increase. I'd like to stay catted if possible just to avoid all the emissions hoop jumping. Would 60rwhp be possible with the above using mid length headers and cats or do you think I'd have to go long tube and no cats. I'm personally leaning towards 1 7/8' long tubes with cats.