Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Critique my pre-purchase!

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2012, 03:43 PM
ralphsmithiii
Racer

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Critique my pre-purchase!

I am looking to build a "starter" detailing kit for my LeMans Blue 2007 Z06.

Here is what I'm looking to purchase. Please throw in any suggestions/advice/changes. The majority of these items were selected based on forum/internet research and personal experience. I am a amateur when it comes to this level of detailing.

For paint correction (light-medium swirl removal)
Meguiars Porter Cable XP Ultra Polish Kit with 5.5 Inch Pads (Meg's 105/205 which seems to work very well).

For pre-polish/wash prep
Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay (Bogo on autogeek's website)

Wash/Soap
Wolfgang Auto Bathe (any other suggestions, something cheaper maybe?)

Meguiars X3002 Microfiber Wash Mitt

Drying
The Guzzler Waffle Weave (I currently use a Toro electric leaf blower that works pretty well though always leaves some small water spots)

Wheel Cleaning
Daytona Speed Master Wheel Brush (Because I never clean the wheels past the spokes)

Detailer's Wheel Cleaner (Also Bogo on autogeek's web site)

Outside Trim Pieces ALL
Wolfgang Exterior Trim Sealant

Inside Trim Pieces
Meguiars Mirror Glaze #40 Vinyl & Rubber Cleaner / Conditioner

Microfiber towels for various uses
Deluxe Jr. 600 Microfiber Towels 3 Pack (I still have a hard time paying this much for a towel). I've been looking at Mothers/Meguiars towels that have great reviews for half the cost, but people here love their Cobra's it seems.

Sealant
Open to suggestions. I hear the Blackfire sealant is pretty good, but of course there's many brands that I think people use based on personal preference or experience.