Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

$1200 for PPG paint materials sound ok?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2011, 06:26 PM
Bronze76
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $1200 for PPG paint materials sound ok?

Earlier this year I decided I was going to paint my car (finally). I have been on the fence for quite a while because the car still has the original paint and it didn't look too bad once shined up. However, any charm that comes from having original paint has been overshadowed by chips, scratches, dull spots and small cracks...so it's just time to give the car a new coat.

So, summer is almost over and I haven't changed my mind (like previous years) so I am ready to get started.

Since I am a paint novice, I have decided to use the body and paint write up from Lars Grimsrud and Butch Powers that was posted online a few years back. It seems like a great step by step guide that will help me have a successful project. They recommend the PPG DP system and since I have no allegiance to any particular paint product I figured I'd follow that recommendation.

So, I went down to my local PPG retailer armed with the write up and obtained pricing on the various items. Here is the list:
DP50LF (Grey Sealing Primer) 1 gal with DP401LF (regular catalyst)
DT870 reducer 1 gal
K36 Primer Surfacer 1 gal with hardener
DBU basecoat 1 gal with reactive reducer
Concept 2020 clear coat 1 gal with DT reducer and DU5 hardener

The price for all this stuff comes in around $1200-ish.