Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

77e, are all these parts SMC? and did I pick the right resin?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2018, 04:49 PM
ConnecticutJunkman
Instructor

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default 77e, are all these parts SMC? and did I pick the right resin?

I got a buch of fiberglass work to do and I am a newbie at fiberglass. My car is an early 77 with metal floors.
Do all these parts look like SMC? From what I have been reading I am thinking yes but I want to ask the experts here to be sure.

Also for the resin I think I am going to go with West Systems 105 with the 206 slow hardener and 300 metering pumps. I can get it local at boat places here and haven't read to many issues with it. Unsure about the matting at this point.

T-top latch on roof
----------

inside roof back side by T-top latch
--------------

looking down through headlight hole at backside of nose/fender
------------

drivers seat area looking down at top of trans tunnel(crack, background) and wiper motor pocket (foreground) on firewall
----------

#4 mount looking up

-----------

#3 mount access door in wheel well area ripped open by PO
--------

#4 mount

------

Old 08-06-2018, 06:39 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Yes...the WEST SYSTEMS products you commented on is what I would use.
And as for your #4 body mount in the last photo. You are aware that the yellow arrow in the photo below is not a crack in SMC...that mark is in the metal gusset plate for the #4 mount.

DUB
Old 08-06-2018, 07:28 PM
ConnecticutJunkman
Instructor

Originally Posted by DUB
Yes...the WEST SYSTEMS products you commented on is what I would use.
And as for your #4 body mount in the last photo. You are aware that the yellow arrow in the photo below is not a crack in SMC...that mark is in the metal gusset plate for the #4 mount.
DUB