Sponsored by:

C3 headlight problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2010, 10:20 AM
JunkdriverToo
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C3 headlight problem

I need help for a 1973! Both headlights popped up and stayed up after starting the car. I have all the diagrams and will be working on it soon. I have read a warning not to put them down manually. Is there a way to put them down with a bypass of any kind? I am not sure if they stay up no matter what the problem, for safety reasons. Does the Override Switch only pull them up? Thanks I'm new at this.
Old 12-12-2010, 10:37 AM
Eddie 70
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts
Ci 6, 8 & 10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

The override switch will open and close the headlights. Start the car and see if the override switch will close the headlights too. Down should cause the lights to go up and pushing the **** up should pull the lights down.

If you need to let the lights down manually, you can do it, just be careful because you can get your finger caught in the mechanism easily and possibly lose a finger. Just push on the back of the knee in the mechanism and the light should come down. Go easy when doing this and do not force the light down. You can wind up tearing the "witches hat" seal in the headlight.
Old 12-12-2010, 10:37 AM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Received 2,878 Likes on 2,515 Posts

Hi,
I believe putting the lights down manually is hard on the diaphragm in the actuators. Disconnecting the hoses from the actuators allows the vacuum to bleed off with out putting undo pressure on the diaphragms.
There is a point of pressure in the linkage that must also be over come when you begin to pull the lights closed.
Regards,
Alan

This is the 'elbow' ( lower center in the picture, silver part) you want to pull down on. DON"T pull on the plastic electrical switch... it's easy to break.

Hi Eddie, You beat me to it., I'm a slow typist.