Sponsored by:

Rebuilding Master Cylinder

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2011, 01:31 AM
69FASTFUN
Drifting

Received 180 Likes on 142 Posts

Default Rebuilding Master Cylinder

I have an original GM master cylinder for power brakes that has the bleeders on it and I would like to rebuild it. I took the piston out to clean the inside, is there anything that I have to do to the bore like hone. I can not feel any ridges. What should I use to clean to make sure I get all of the dirt and grime out.

Thanks
Old 11-06-2011, 01:46 AM
Scottd
Drifting

Received 139 Likes on 80 Posts

Is it REALLY worth the effort? You can get rebuilds for less than 30 bucks. You time alone will cost you more.

As for cleaning, most car stores sell gallon buckets of carb cleaner.....dip it for a day, clean it off and it looks good as new.

If you are going to hone, (and dont have the proper stone setup) go in with some 120 sandpaper and hit it until it looks scratchy yet smooth.
Old 11-06-2011, 09:50 AM
Steve2147
Pro

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Wash it out thoroughly with hot soapy water. The bore is not like an engine cyl bore, you will not find a wear ridge. What ruins the bores is pitting where the crud was sitting.

Honing the cyl is not like honing an engine cyl either. We leave a cross hatch visible scratch in an engine to aid in seating the rings. In a brake cyl we have a rubber seal sliding in the cyl. We do not want, nor need, to see visible scratches. 120 stone would be okay for a first run to clean the hard crud out, but you want to finish with a 240 or higher grit.

If your bore was perfectly clean and smooth end to end after cleaning, there is no need to hone. Examine it thoroughly for pitting and if there is none, you're good to go.

Assemble with your new kit using brake fluid to lube the parts as you assemble.

Steve g
Old 11-06-2011, 09:53 AM
69FASTFUN
Drifting

Received 180 Likes on 142 Posts

Originally Posted by Scottd