When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
If they're willing to let it go for a pre-haggling price of $62K , they're not convinced it's real either. I guess they had a good hard look at the engine pad.
Looks like a fantastic car, and a "real deal" by which I mean a good price for the buyer IF it is a genuine and complete L89. Of all the evidence that might support this car's authenticity, the written description of the car being "the real deal" is at the bottom of the list. I guess you would want to do all the difficult due diligence before buying it, but just from the little dark pics I see, it looks nice.
Looks like a fantastic car, and a "real deal" by which I mean a good price for the buyer IF it is a genuine and complete L89. Of all the evidence that might support this car's authenticity, the written description of the car being "the real deal" is at the bottom of the list. I guess you would want to do all the difficult due diligence before buying it, but just from the little dark pics I see, it looks nice.
Personally, I think it's a great deal provided ALL the documentation checks.
Any idea when it was born?
Recently, when I was having my '69 "verified" I was told the M21 was not avaiable with the 3.36 and when I produced my tank sticker (build of 11/23/68) they were a bit taken back as EVERYTHING lined up and I see this car does the same (provided the documentation can also back it up).
A real l89 for that price and if real, jump on it.
When I bought my 2000 convertible back in 2005 from American Sportscar Center (BuyaVette.com), they had a green L89 that they had just sold for $71,000.00 They said it was going to the Netherlands or somewhere over seas.
Hi m,
Pro Team is usually pretty quick to include in the description if the the car has been Flight Judged.
It's not mentioned, but since you you have the VIN, you can check yourself to be sure. That information might help you with your decision.
Regards,
Alan
Many of the ProTeam cars have the statement "the Real Deal" in the description. I wonder if they've put a copyright on "the Real Deal" and defined it as a good clone job.
Many of the ProTeam cars have the statement "the Real Deal" in the description. I wonder if they've put a copyright on "the Real Deal" and defined it as a good clone job.
Also a popular vanity plate. Seen it on a NY L-88.
hmmm.... that is a good idea, The Real DealTM A corvette that appears to be in its original configuration, at least to the extent needed to fool the casual observer.
I sent a request in through the website for additional photos and pictures of the documentation. It seems the consensus thus far is that the car may be a decent price; however, many of you are skeptical as to originality notwithstanding the statements in the proteam ad. It was my understanding that the proteam group didn't use that phrase "the real deal" unless they had a lot of evidence backing up originality.
While I'm an NCRS member, i saw no way to check and see whether the car has been flight judged without sending in a $300 request to verify prior awards. Do y'all think flight judging (or absence thereof) is dispositive as to whether the car is original?
Do y'all think flight judging (or absence thereof) is dispositive as to whether the car is original?
Not quite sure in what context you're using the word 'dispositive', but if you're asking 'does NCRS judging assess whether a car is genuine/authentic/original/the Real Deal ® etc' the answer is a resounding NO, it does not. Too many people see the pretty blue ribbon and assume otherwise.
Even if the car got a Top Flight tomorrow, it could be with a complete deduct on the engine stamp pad- so much for trying to convince a buyer down the line about it being the original engine.