C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing front bumper... Question...

Old 04-10-2017, 07:34 PM
Oynch
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing front bumper... Question...

I wish to purchase a new bumper for my '73. I've purchased a TruFlex bumper and it won't fit due to it's sizing. I asked around and I've got the impression that I must remove the front impact bar in order to install a bumper (TruFlex or otherwise). Is this true? I'm no expert, but I am not thrilled with the idea of removing a vital part of the bumper just to fit an ill-designed TruFlex or fiberglass bumper. Am I making a mountain out of a mole hill here or is there a bumper I can purchase that is designed correctly and fits over the standard impact bar?

Help?
Old 04-10-2017, 11:06 PM
gguillot
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 96 Likes on 78 Posts

I've got the Trueflex bumper on my 73 and it fits with the front impact bar in place. You may need to loosen it up and readjust. Also, you'll probably have to do some trimming on the ends to make it line up perfectly.
Old 04-11-2017, 09:14 AM
Oynch
Cruising

Originally Posted by gguillot
I've got the Trueflex bumper on my 73 and it fits with the front impact bar in place. You may need to loosen it up and readjust. Also, you'll probably have to do some trimming on the ends to make it line up perfectly.
I'm not the brightest ... But are there many points of adjustment that can be made throughout that bumper frame? Or is there just the adjustment for the impact bar portion?
Old 04-11-2017, 10:30 AM
raydog9379
Racer

Received 47 Likes on 40 Posts

My recommendation would be to find an original or have an original in decent shape fixed. On my 78 SA when I bought it in 2005 it had a badly cracked front bumper with one of the bumperettes (I think that's what they are called) almost broken off completely.