C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starter Question on a '78...

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 06:18 PM
Drew
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Starter Question on a '78...

Hello.......I am finally getting around to working on the car. I have to remove my original starter for a rebuild. I am pretty sure there are only 2 - 9/16 bolts holding it on. I got the bottom one off no problem. My problem is the Top one. It seems to be in a very tight area. It looks like there isn't even enough room for it to come out....I cannot get my long handle ratchet on it because of very limited space....I'm hoping I am trying to remove the right bolt LOL! I have wrenched quite a bit on this car, but this is my first time removing the starter.....Can anybody help me out with maybe a pic of where the Top mounting bolt is located to make sure I have the right one? They both attatch into the bellhousing, right? Thanks, I feel kinda dumb posting this! LOL......Thank You for any help on this....
Old 01-03-2013, 06:22 PM
drwet
Melting Slicks

Received 538 Likes on 413 Posts

There are essentially three bolts holding the starter on and no, they don't go into the bellhousing. The two main bolts go up from the bottom into the block. They may be staggered or straight across. There is usually also a brace at the rear of the starter that supports it. This brace is bolted to the starter and to the block.
Old 01-03-2013, 07:25 PM
TimAT
Le Mans Master

Received 424 Likes on 385 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

This picture, you can see the 2 bolts (offset style). What you can't see is the front brace.

No idea why the same picture posted 2 times.
Attached Images  

Last edited by TimAT; 01-03-2013 at 07:29 PM.
Old 01-03-2013, 07:48 PM
larrywalk
Melting Slicks

Received 102 Likes on 73 Posts

Originally Posted by Drew