C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Park brake front cable

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 10:04 PM
kansas123
Melting Slicks

Received 361 Likes on 280 Posts

Default Park brake front cable

Is there any adjustment for the front park brake cable at the park brake lever? Or is it : It is what it is..... And, if there is not, which is what I suspect, is it a good idea to remove your old cable and measure it, so that when you order a new one, you are sure to at least get one that is shorter than what you have? The one on the car is adjusted as far as it will go and I think I am just beginning to have the feeling that it is tightening the (new) shoes when I have the lever pulled (all the way).... Thanks.
Old 05-12-2017, 07:13 AM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Received 2,878 Likes on 2,515 Posts

Hi K,
I don't think there's any adjustment at the handle mechanism for the front cable.
Here's a photo of what I believe is a pretty typical connection for the front to rear cable at the adjuster.
You can see the amount of threaded' adjustment' that's left on the forward cable. There's still more than 2".
What did yours look like?
Are both your cables routed properly?
Regards,
Alan

Old 05-12-2017, 10:01 AM
kansas123
Melting Slicks

I'll try to get a picture, kinda tight down thar. The forward adjustment nut is all the way forward, no more threads....
Old 05-12-2017, 10:09 AM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Hi K,
Is the forward cable threaded through the hole in the underbody and around the nylon pulley properly?
Is the rear cable routed properly? Are both crossmember brackets for the rear cable in place? Is the rear cable seated in both the brackets properly?
Regards,
Alan
Old 05-12-2017, 06:27 PM
kansas123
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by Alan 71
Hi K,
Is the forward cable threaded through the hole in the underbody and around the nylon pulley properly?