C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1978 Power Window Problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2018, 03:43 PM
EP1978
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1978 Power Window Problems

Hey guys, I'm having a few problems with my power windows. I got the car (1978 SA) in October of 2017 and I've been facing the issues since I bought it. This is my first time working on any corvette, not to mention one that's 40 years old.

For the driver's side - On the way down, I have to feather the switch because it basically drops down into the door and I'd rather not shatter the glass if I can help it. On the way up, the glass tends to get stuck around 1 1/2" up. I have to go back down and come back up a few times to get it all the way up, so there's probably something wrong with the track/alignment. The window also feels rather loose, I can wiggle it back and forth and it often fails to fit snug against the weatherstripping. Also, when the door is closed, the window fails to go all the way up. There's about 3/4" of space between the top of the window and the top weatherstripping.

For the passenger's side - I expect there's an issue with the motor or lubrication here, as the glass moves very slowly in both directions. When the door is closed, the window will still go up all the way, but it slows down significantly towards the top.It's pretty firm though, and it usually doesn't have a problem falling into place with the weatherstripping.

My dad and I have been fixing small things on the car here and there, but we've neglected the windows because we're not sure quite where to start. Any advice is appreciated.

I'm at work right now, but I'll post pictures of the gaps (and anything else that might be helpful - let me know) tomorrow or Sunday.

Thanks!
Brady
Old 05-18-2018, 06:17 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts