C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

trailing arm bolt surgery

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2019, 09:15 PM
ronarndt
Drifting

Received 252 Likes on 193 Posts
Default trailing arm bolt surgery

While I had the differential, exhaust, axles and other stuff removed from my 68 convert to work on the differential, I decided to do the one job I have been putting off for two years. The bolt for the right rear trailing arm was seized in the bushing and could not be removed to get the old style alignment shims out to adjust the toe in/toe out. So with considerable swearing- mostly at my shop light and its inability to show where my sawzall was cutting- I cut the bolt out. The photo shows how to destroy a carbide blade. Because you can only use about two inches on the blade due to the location of the bolt, I got extra use by cutting off the tip of the blade when it got dull, so I could use some fresh sharp teeth. New TA bushings are on order, stainless steel pivot bolt and shims have been sitting on my shelf for about two years from when I did the left side, which was not seized. Think I will have a beer.
Old 02-04-2019, 10:18 PM
Antz81
Pro

Received 81 Likes on 77 Posts

Originally Posted by ronarndt
Think I will have a beer.
After reading that I think you may need a 2nd
Old 02-05-2019, 12:28 AM
CA-Legal-Vette
Race Director

Received 317 Likes on 268 Posts

Nice job. How did you cut the sawsall blade, cut off wheel?
Old 02-05-2019, 05:42 AM
74_stingray
Burning Brakes

Received 280 Likes on 217 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019
St. Jude Donor '19
Default TA bolt

After having done the same this past Sunday, I can relate.
Good luck with your project.
Eddy
Old 02-05-2019, 09:26 AM
Street Rat
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 529 Likes on 396 Posts

The trailing arm removal has been my least favorite job while working on a C3.