C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1973 L48 engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2004, 05:05 PM
humiliategravity
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1973 L48 engine rebuild

Hi everyone,

I just became the proud of owner of my first Corvette - a 1973 coupe with 79k and all the originals, born 4 years before I was :yesnod:

The L48 engine is in relatively decent shape, probably what's expected for the original after 79k miles. It puts out a hint of blue smoke every once in a while (mostly on warm restarts), and the 190 hp just won't do, so I've decided to give it a go at rebuilding the engine with a little more juice.

I've never done anything under a hood more sophisticated than attaching jumper cables (which scares me) so I want to keep this project modest. I have some pretty experienced helpers available, but I'm looking for opinions on how to proceed with the rebuild. It seems like there are tons of options.

I don't want to remove the engine block, and I would prefer not to mess with the exhaust system (it's new). So I was thinking of changing the cylinder heads and replacing some of the other components. Does anyone have ideas about some relatively basic modifications that could keep the engine healthy and give it more muscle?

I'd like to get around 300 hp, I'd prefer not to go too high compression, and I don't have to pass emissions. I'm hoping to shoot under $1500 for the whole rebuild.

Thanks in advance! Can't wait to get started.
Old 05-27-2004, 05:10 PM
Stewart's74
Safety Car

Received 42 Likes on 21 Posts

Default Re: 1973 L48 engine rebuild (humiliategravity)

Dart Iron Eagle Heads,
Cam Swap,
Intake.

This should get you going.
Old 05-27-2004, 05:38 PM
humiliategravity
Instructor

Thanks... which size Dart Eagles would you recommend?
Old 05-27-2004, 08:55 PM
joe73vette
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts