C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

'93 Vette ZF Transmission removal and Replacement/Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2022, 05:57 PM
93vetteWes
Cruising

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default '93 Vette ZF Transmission removal and Replacement/Rebuild

Hi all, I have a '93 vette that was having some problems going into gear. I am new to working on this car and have ran into some problems. When I bought the car about a year ago it has always had issues shifting into specifically first gear. Then as i drove it more recently it seemed to become worse. In an effort to fix this issue I replaced the clutch hydraulics with OEM ones (I know many people do not have luck with these) but to my demise those didn't seem to fix the issue. So then the next step was to remove the transmission to see if either the clutch or the transmission itself was the issue. So last weekend I spent my time tearing apart the car and managed to get the transmission out as well as the clutch. I bought a replacement clutch kit (LuK 04-113) off of summit racing. From what I could tell the old clutch was still in decent shape, while it still needed replaced. Either way I believe the transmission needed a rebuild. I believe the issue is the synchronizers inside the transmission are the issue because first gear is really hard to get into and will sometimes grind. The whole transmission seems as though it is extremely notchy.
My question to you guys is
1. What is the best way to rebuild a zf s6-40 transmission and roughly how much will it cost and will that fix the notchy shifting issue (I have about $1500 for this project)
2. Is there another, less expensive manual transmission that I can swap it out with that will work for street driving
3. What exact solid flywheel should i get, or should i attempt to get my original dual mass flywheel resurfaced (i know this is normally impossible)