C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

L98 Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2017, 02:14 AM
c4_owner
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default L98 Conversion

I recently bought a '86 vette with the L98, its the first car I've ever bought and I want to switch it from the standard TPI to be carbureted. I want to know if I could use the stock block, crank, pistons,etc..with vortec heads, edelbrock rpm air-gap intake, and 600 cfm edelbrock carb. I am looking to make around 350hp...if my setup is possible, where would the power numbers be?

**sorry for any stupid or ridiculous questions for i am new to actually working on my own engines but have an extreme passion for it
Old 05-30-2017, 08:39 AM
aklim
Team Owner

Received 2,225 Likes on 1,939 Posts

You could but I think you'd lose your gauges. What are you trying to accomplish?
Old 05-30-2017, 08:47 AM
bjankuski
Safety Car

Received 466 Likes on 369 Posts

Originally Posted by c4_owner
I recently bought a '86 vette with the L98, its the first car I've ever bought and I want to switch it from the standard TPI to be carbureted. I want to know if I could use the stock block, crank, pistons,etc..with vortec heads, edelbrock rpm air-gap intake, and 600 cfm edelbrock carb. I am looking to make around 350hp...if my setup is possible, where would the power numbers be?

**sorry for any stupid or ridiculous questions for i am new to actually working on my own engines but have an extreme passion for it
You could do that and your power will be close to 350 HP with the correct cam but I question why you want to go this route? You will spend the same amount of money on an intake, carb, distributer, and fuel system modifications to make this happen vs putting on a mini ram and getting a chip. The Mini ram and chip will probably make more power and not have all the associated issues that come up with a carb.
Old 05-30-2017, 10:04 AM
c4_owner
5th Gear