When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
I have my 2002 Corvette Listed on eBay for sale. This fraud site www.VetteHound.com has copied my ad word for word and stole all of my pictures and they say my Vette is in Florida when its really for sale in the North East. Another honest ebay memeber sent me an email today informing me. They said "hey I am considering buying this exact car for $8,000.00 on another site". This is a total scam and they copy eBay ad word for word and steal the pics and then ask and unreal low price. Other than reporting to eBay anything else I should/can do? Please advise. Thanks, I can/will forward a copy of the link of the fraud ad and my real ebay ad. If anyone cares to help me please recomend to me what to do. This forum is always so helpful with cool honest people so hopefully we can stop this crap.
From: Reno is so close to Hell you can see Sparks , State Of Confusion
St. Jude Donor '12-'13-'14
Originally Posted by C5smithjack
I have my 2002 Corvette Listed on eBay for sale. This fraud site www.VetteHound.com has copied my ad word for word and stole all of my pictures and they say my Vette is in Florida when its really for sale in the North East. Another honest ebay memeber sent me an email today informing me. They said "hey I am considering buying this exact car for $8,000.00 on another site". This is a total scam and they copy eBay ad word for word and steal the pics and then ask and unreal low price. Other than reporting to eBay anything else I should/can do? Please advise. Thanks, I can/will forward a copy of the link of the fraud ad and my real ebay ad. If anyone cares to help me please recomend to me what to do. This forum is always so helpful with cool honest people so hopefully we can stop this crap.
First thing I would do is contact them by phone and ask them whats up, Plain and simple.
My car was listed on vette hound, after I bought it, lol. Same deal, a person copied another car sites add that I used and posted word for word, but moved it from philly to New York. It was my car down to the vin picture. I contacted the admin of the site by email, and a week later, the add was still there. Needless to say, no place can keep all the scams off, but with vettehounds slow response to it, I would not buy there.
FYI, that "site" didn't steal your pictures. A scammer stole your pictures and put it up for sale on that site. I'd watch who you call a scammer.
Just like the Ebay scams for $5000 cars.
Edit: I'd email the admin of that site, admin@vettehound.com to have the ad removed.
Other than that why worry about it. If the scammers aren't trying to sell $20k cars for $7k, then they are popping up at your computer doorstep with huge lottery winning$. Scams cannot work without "victims" (aka fools ) and it is these geniuses who are the problem.
Funny how you ask for advice and the first thing your told is to watch your mouth... Only in this great place of "cool honest people" would you get such a response.
I wouldn't stress it too much, is not like they have your car physically anyways. It is up to the buyer to take precaution when inquiring about the sale in this SCAMMER POLLUTED website that goes by VetteHound.com
I just sold a boat and, in the process, had to weed through quite a few “buyers” wanting to overpay me via Western Union or some other means, with me then giving them my bank info to refund the excess payment after shipping, etc., etc. My answer was: “If you show up with cash and a trailer hitch. It’s yours, otherwise no sale” which ended the scams. I would not be surprised if you don’t get these “buyer” scams as much as the seller scams you pointed out... Be careful.
It really is up to the buyer as well as the seller to not get caught in these scams and I feel bad for the folks who do… Not all are fools or idiots – sometimes bad things happen to decent people.
It’s a good call to at least send a note to the site and inform them of the scam. Beyond that, there’s not much else you can do. Just try not to get stressed. Sell the car to a legit buyer and enjoy the cash.
I took a look at that site and have to say there are a lot of cars listed for really stupid prices. Yes, the sellers are scammers but I think the website does bear some responsibility as well. They advertise themselves as a Corvette site and should have a pretty good idea of what these cars are worth and what they should sell for. So I'll say it, the site is part of the scam and I don't care who hears it.
There's a government website we refer our residents to if they are solicited for what is an e-mail scam. Not sure if you can use it for this, but it couldn't hurt to try. I believe it's www.IC3.gov. It's an FBI based website if I'm not mistaken.
I just sold a boat and, in the process, had to weed through quite a few “buyers” wanting to overpay me via Western Union or some other means, with me then giving them my bank info to refund the excess payment after shipping, etc., etc. My answer was: “If you show up with cash and a trailer hitch. It’s yours, otherwise no sale” which ended the scams. I would not be surprised if you don’t get these “buyer” scams as much as the seller scams you pointed out... Be careful.
It really is up to the buyer as well as the seller to not get caught in these scams and I feel bad for the folks who do… Not all are fools or idiots – sometimes bad things happen to decent people.
It’s a good call to at least send a note to the site and inform them of the scam. Beyond that, there’s not much else you can do. Just try not to get stressed. Sell the car to a legit buyer and enjoy the cash.
Just do your best. You should not be hurt from this. It also must be kind of neat to discover the scam. A workmate and I followed a cell phone (text message) scam back as far as we could get. we tracked the email and phone numbers as bestwe could. Then we let the phone company try to hunt it down, but they probobly don't. I would post on your ad the scamming that you have found.
I had a 96 Talon posted for sale on Craig's List. Some scammer copied all my stuff and also posted the Talon on the same Craig's List.......who knows where else.
I notified CL that it was a scam and they pulled the copy ad........but a few days later my original ad disappeared as well. I then got a email from CL that my ad had been reported as a scam......so they pulled it. Meanwhile I sold the car on eBay to a great guy in SC.
Designer Imagines A Corvette That Looks More Like a Corvette Than the Corvette
Slideshow: A Jaguar designer's personal project imagines what a modern front-engined Corvette might look like if Chevrolet revisited the golden age of the Stingray.