C5 experts please help!?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2017, 12:16 PM
txagg14
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C5 experts please help!?

Hello!
I am brand new to the forum, just bought my first Corvette ever yesterday.
I've been working on cars for a long time but Im not quite sure exactly what this noise is.
Around 1100-1300 rpms, there is a rattling noise that happens.
It ONLY happens in that rpm range and it only happens in 1st and 2nd gear.
You don't hear it at idle and as soon as you go over 1300 rpms it goes away.

Is this normal?

**** ADDED******
First post so Im still learning!! Thanks for all of your help.
The car is an automatic :/, 70k all stock and garage kept for 15 years.

Thanks!
Super excited to be a part of the Corvette family.
Attached Images  

Last edited by txagg14; 03-04-2017 at 08:12 PM.
Old 03-04-2017, 12:38 PM
Jeff T.
Race Director

Received 1,090 Likes on 797 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24

Welcome Aggie!

The first question would be location. Where does the sound appear to be coming from? Under the hood, drivetrain?? Since you mentioned 1st gear, 2nd gear we can assume it's a 6 speed?
The following users liked this post:
txagg14 (03-04-2017)
Old 03-04-2017, 12:47 PM
CQRT
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 295 Likes on 237 Posts

Check the metal heat shield under the car - you didn't say if it was an engine sound or elsewhere-- but that would be my bet.

Congrats on the new Vette!
The following users liked this post:
txagg14 (03-04-2017)
Old 03-04-2017, 01:17 PM
grantv
Le Mans Master

Received 535 Likes on 491 Posts

Further; exhaust hangers are known to jingle, more commonly the spring assembly. Could also be the "H pipe jingle"; a noise caused by the H pipe design.
You need to narrow down where it's coming from.
Old 03-04-2017, 01:24 PM
cqd24
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by CQRT