Lease question

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2004, 11:12 PM
BigJoe
Race Director

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 64 Likes on 43 Posts

Default Lease question

How does a lease work if the residual value is greater than the amount of the lease. Say. MSRP 52000, Trade in 35000, amount of lease 17000
Value of car after 3 years 30000. Using typical rates etc. most of the lease calculators come up with a negative monthly payment.
Old 10-06-2004, 01:21 AM
MrLeadFoot
Melting Slicks

Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by BigJoe
How does a lease work if the residual value is greater than the amount of the lease. Say. MSRP 52000, Trade in 35000, amount of lease 17000
Value of car after 3 years 30000. Using typical rates etc. most of the lease calculators come up with a negative monthly payment.
First, let me say that I was a Finance Manager for nearly 7 years.

For me to try and help, I meed more info.

Is the car you're trading pure equity? In other words, do you own your trade outright, or is there a payoff? Is there is a payoff, what is the payoff amount? Estimate would work here.

If you own the trade outright, you should NOT lease. Why? Because it does not make sense for you to do so, especially if MSRP is 52k, since you can probably get that car for more like 45k, leaving you a deficit of only 10k.

Secondly, did you know that you are taxed on ANYTHING you put "down" (capitalized cost reduction) on a car when leasing, except for license fees and security deposit, if any? For example, if you put 35k toward a lease you would be responsible for an upfront tax amount on that 35k. Of course, most finance guys will back the tax out of that 35k, and your cap reduction would be the difference. So, in an 8% sales tax county your cap reduction (down payment) would really end up being 32,407.41, and you can kiss that tax amount goodbye forever!