C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Issues with IPC and HUD

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2017, 07:27 PM
jarero
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Issues with IPC and HUD

A little back story first....

I picked up a bargain priced high mile 99 C5 coupe last year and haven't driven it since the test drive so I have limited experience behind the wheel. My intention from the begging was to fix it up some starting with an interior refresh. Well due to some unforeseen circumstance I have had many delays getting to the point I am at now.

I have two issues that I don't think are related but I am including them together just in case:

1) The chime that sounds for your seatbelt, door ajar w/key in, headlight left on, etc. doesn't work but I can hear a relay clicking to the same rhythm as what the chime should. From my research this is the IPC that controls it and is likely faulty needing repaired or replaced. Does anyone know who could repair this? I would rather go this way than trying to source a replacement but will do whatever is necessary. Please let me know if you disagree with my conclusion. I also know some people will comment that they hate the chime and wouldn't fix it but I guess I am weird and actually appreciate the reminder. What can I say other than I have been conditioned over the years to rely on it.