C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket Support/Product Needs

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2018, 10:49 AM
BrodysFRC
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Aftermarket Support/Product Needs

I am an experienced mechanical engineer in a position to fill a void in C5 corvettes aftermarket support or product needs. I have just purchased a 1999 FRC, which will be used as a R&D vehicle. I would love to create something useful since these cars are such great platforms to build on.

What do you all think is missing in the aftermarket?
What do you wish you could buy?
What do you wish there were more options for?
What products seem to disappoint you?
What problems aggrivate you with the C5?

Some things that come to my mind are issues with bottoming out/scraping everywhere, and the lack of "low-rise" or "sleepy-eye" headlight options. I've only seen the radioflyer luminator kit.

Looking forward to your thoughts!
Old 05-30-2018, 10:36 PM
ASRoff
Drifting

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts

more carbon fiber... roof.. decklid, front facial and doors... there is a company in italy that is staring to do them.. but the car still could use a weight loss program without compromising quality. I'm looking to make them myself at this point....
The following users liked this post:
BrodysFRC (05-31-2018)
Old 05-31-2018, 08:21 AM
BrodysFRC
Intermediate

That is true. I haven't seen much for weight reduction without compromising functionality, like remove certain options. Could possibly make a c/f component that both reduces weight, and adds rigidity to the car. Thanks for the input!
Old 05-31-2018, 02:55 PM
TastyBacon
Pro

Received 80 Likes on 62 Posts

Start producing these: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...-pictures.html

Design a better version of this: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...iff-mount.html