C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

One headlight stays down

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2018, 02:18 AM
Terje.Larsson
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default One headlight stays down

Hey all
Have had my c5 since May and then tested my headlight and booth was working.
Now yesterday was the first time since I tested ... no light went up;
Tested a few times and suddenly left light went up .. but right light
stays in the down position .. both lights are working so the problem is that it does not go up.
Im not that good at troubleshooting so thought if someone could tell me a little bit in the troubleshooting
Thanks in advance.
Old 09-11-2018, 09:22 AM
K-Spaz
Team Owner

Location: Central PA. - - My AR15 identifies as a muzzleloader
Received 522 Likes on 387 Posts
I believe in the Beer Fairy

Do a search for bump stops, buy a few and replace. They're little beige plastic caps you can easily see when you have the hood open. There's 4 per side, but you most likely won't need all 8.

I've got several just sitting here on my desk.

Also, you can move them around since they all use different contact areas. Just play musical chairs with em and you'll see the spots they rest on are in different locations depending on which one you're looking at. That will also get you back in business short term. But they get brittle over time so for the few bucks they cost, I just replaced em.

Old 09-11-2018, 07:10 PM
GCG
Melting Slicks

Received 725 Likes on 577 Posts

Originally Posted by Terje.Larsson
...no light went up;
Tested a few times and suddenly left light went up .. but right light stays in the down position .. both lights are working so the problem is that it does not go up...