C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shock Failure

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2019, 09:01 AM
JWM
Racer

Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Shock Failure

Will lowering the C5 on stock bolts cause premature shock failure. When I purchased mine, it had been lowered on stock bolts but, for how many miles I have no knowledge. I replaced the tires with the proper size and returned the vehicle to stock height. I have noticed that, on occasion, the rear will bottom out when hitting a bump.
Current millage is 42K. Thanks for your consideration in this matter.
Old 03-04-2019, 03:58 PM
gimp
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 364 Likes on 281 Posts

No. The stock height adjustment bolts were included by GM, the factory, the engineers, for a reason - for you to use them! Extreme height differences can cause some amount of extra load or wear, but it's not worth worrying as long as it drives the way it should. (With that said, the suspension geometry changes enough that for really hard use - track use where performance really matters - you may consider alternatives to improve the setup.)

However, shocks do fail with both age and mileage. Given the age of our C5s, it is not unusual to need new shocks. Do you see signs of leaking or weeping? Do you have a "moist" looking shock, with dirt sticking to it?

If you do plan to change them up, I think the most popular option are the C6Z shocks - super cheap and quite good. I think there are some Bilsteins people quite like as well. I put on double-adjustable Viking shocks, though in retrospect, I kinda wish I just ponied up and got LG GT2 coilovers ...
Old 03-04-2019, 04:12 PM
JWM
Racer

Originally Posted by gimp