C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Key fob not detected

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 08:43 PM
gsx1300rrr
Advanced

Received 25 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Key fob not detected

Hello all, ****EDIT the fix has been found****

I am new to the Corvette world and seem to be experiencing a seemingly common "Key Fob Not Detected" error on my 05 C6 Ls2. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

I have been reading threads non stop, but I am hoping to get a jumping off point based on some of my cars symptoms.

Cliff Notes:
Key Fob undetected when starting the car (works intermittently)
locks/radio/hatch all detect the key and let you in at all times
Key fob did not pass the test in the glove box
HOWEVER, Car starts when you unplug and re-plug the BCM

I came out to my car after work, and the car would not start. It was saying key fob not detected. However, the key was being detected enough to let me enter the car, work the windows, radio, and open the back hatch.

I replaced both the car battery and the key fob battery and still had the same issue.

So I had the car towed to the dealership to see if they can diagnose it. After 2.5 hours of their corvette tech on the job, they called me and said he got the car to start after using a jump wire on the negative battery terminal. After turning the car on and off multiple times they said it appears to work, but that it didn't make sense and that they didn't find a culprit. They said if the car decides not to start again to bring it back and they can pick up from where they left off.