C7 General Discussion General C7 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bad dealership experience

 
Old 03-04-2019, 04:25 PM
  #1  
Bondojohn
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bondojohn's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2015
Location: Park Ridge Il
Posts: 386
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default Bad dealership experience

Bad Dealership Experience.
Hereís my story
In 2011 I started bringing my 2011 Corvette Grand Sport to Stasek Chevrolet for service even though I purchased it from a good dealer close to my house. I traveled father away to Stasek for reasons Iíll explain later in my story. As time went by I ordered and excepted a 2015 Calloway Corvette and then a 2017 Calloway Corvette that both had multiple cosmetic defects. The dealer corrected most of them but not all to my liking. One of them had a bubble in the hood decal. Instead of replacing it they sprayed the hood with shiny paint that was not dull like the factory option.
I was berated,scolded and accused of causing some of those defects myself by the Dealership Manager who is no longer there.
One of the cars had a drastic misaligned stitching in the dash. Even though the car was a few weeks old and it was covered by the warranty the dealer wouldnít have anything to with fixing it. I was calling customer service for over 6 months until I finally found an excellent person to agree to repair it under warranty.
Iíve probably spent close to $200,000 dollars at this dealership in new car purchases, body shop repairs and servicing of all my vehicles including a one time repair of $16,000. I was nice enough to have a personalized license plate sign made for Jeromy and his uncle, the Dealership manager that cost over $200 each.
Before I ordered the third Corvette from them I talked to the salesman,Bob Clegg. I told him because I had so many problems and defects with the other cars I wouldnít accept it if there was anything wrong when it came in. If that wasnít acceptable I would reluctantly go to another dealership. The salesman told me he checked with the Jeremy Stasek who had been involved with running the dealership and then took over when his father passed away last year. He explained to him that I Just wanted the car to be right. The Salesman told me he said that was fine. I was such a loyal customer that I ordered the 2019 Z06 at $500 more than what I could buy it for at any other dealer and I let them keep the $57,500 they paid for my trade-in until the new car arrived. When the car came in once again there were problems. The full length stripe was crooked and there were blemishes in the paint on the door that I asked to be corrected. A couple days later the Dealer called me and said they couldnít correct the blemishes and the door would have to be repainted. I then refused to except the car. I told the dealer, as you have said Iím a very fussy person as I think most corvette owners are, but I shouldnít have to accept a $90,000+ car with a door that had to repainted. He refused to order me another car. When I went back to pick up my $57,500 deposit Jeremy told me I had messed him over because he wouldnít be able to sell the car to anybody else and I had promised to accept it. If anyone got messed up it was me. After I corrected him on his misinformation he said to me not to come back. And as I was walking away he yelled ďand never bring anything back here for serviceĒ
So I went to the nice dealership close to my house and ordered another Z06. It not only came in with nothing wrong but the dealership saved me extra $1000 by applying a Costco discount.
Now you may ask if I had so many problems with this place why would I go back and order another Corvette. I went back because of several reasons. First of all this dealer is one of the largest Corvette dealers in the Midwest and are experts on servicing them. I really liked Bob my salesman. He was so smart,friendly and new everything about Corvettes. Every now and then I enjoyed taking a ride up there to get the free hand car wash and socialize with the whole staff about cars and friendly conversation. I was such a loyal customer they even asked me one day if I punched in yet. Well thatís all gone now. I have my great car, but Iíll miss the Camaraderie I once had at Stasek Chevrolet.

















Last edited by Bondojohn; 03-04-2019 at 04:50 PM.
Bondojohn is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 06:33 PM
  #2  
[email protected]
Platinum Supporting Dealership
 
Brent@StasekChevy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2011
Location: Wheeling Illinois
Posts: 251
Liked 24 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hey John,

I hope you've been well, over the years we've tried to make you a happy customer and satisfied with the experience but unfortunately after many cars ordered and not taken due to the factory blemishes you found unacceptable we couldn't continue to order cars for you (we still have two cars sitting here that you ordered previously from over a year ago). On the most recent purchase our understanding was that we would have the opportunity to fix the car in our body shop should you find issue with the quality of the car delivered from Chevrolet. Upon the car coming in you took issue with the cars condition we offered to correct it in the body shop, this was the direction given to us by Chevrolet as well (but also what we agreed to prior to the order). As for the dash stitching we ordered and returned multiple panels and eventually we couldn't get GM to authorize sending out any more panels. We wish you all the best but please understand we only have so much control over the production practices of the factory.

Best Regards -

Brent Baker

Sales & Internet Marketing Manager
Corvette Manager & Callaway Specialist

847-537-7000

Bill Stasek Chevrolet
700 W. Dundee
Wheeling, IL 60090

Last edited by [email protected]; 03-04-2019 at 06:34 PM.
Brent@StasekChevy is online now  
The following 7 users liked this post by [email protected]:
carriccp (03-04-2019), Cjunkie (03-07-2019), jefnvk (03-05-2019), Monkey D. Luffy (03-06-2019), mschuyler (03-04-2019), Rebel Yell (03-04-2019), Steve_R (03-07-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 06:39 PM
  #3  
Corgidog1
CF Senior Member
 
Corgidog1's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,507
Liked 1,068 Times in 724 Posts
Default

This should be interesting......
Corgidog1 is online now  
The following users liked this post: Corgidog1
ladder13 (03-04-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 06:55 PM
  #4  
mschuyler
CF Senior Member
 
mschuyler's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2016
Location: Bainbridge Island WA
Posts: 3,710
Liked 2,334 Times in 1,060 Posts
Default

Sounds like the customer from hell never did learn. Sorry, but that's how I see it.
mschuyler is online now  
The following 8 users liked this post by mschuyler:
carriccp (03-04-2019), frankb (03-04-2019), jefnvk (03-05-2019), lifter213 (03-04-2019), Monkey D. Luffy (03-06-2019), Ranger5 (03-05-2019), speed4tu (03-05-2019), ZERRY 316 (03-07-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 07:04 PM
  #5  
PatternDayTrader
CF Senior Member
 
PatternDayTrader's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2008
Location: Lansing MI and Houston TX
Posts: 9,196
Liked 772 Times in 597 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mschuyler View Post
Sounds like the customer from hell never did learn. Sorry, but that's how I see it.
No kidding.
Every so often you have to fire one of your customers.
PatternDayTrader is online now  
The following 3 users liked this post by PatternDayTrader:
k_arnold (03-05-2019), SilverGhost (03-05-2019), ZERRY 316 (03-07-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 07:06 PM
  #6  
AceG
CF Senior Member
 
Member Since: May 2015
Posts: 635
Likes: 0
Liked 138 Times in 106 Posts
Default

As a business owner, I am leaning towards the dealership on this one simply because OP confirmed what the dealership is saying. It doesnt matter how much business you give to the dealership. Nitpicking and refusing the car after ordering the car and on top of that the dealership tried to fix any problems is definetely on the customers fault.

No way in hell would I continue ordering cars for the customer either. These ordered cars dont get to be exchanged for new cars.
AceG is offline  
The following users liked this post: AceG
ZERRY 316 (03-07-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 07:15 PM
  #7  
Bondojohn
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bondojohn's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2015
Location: Park Ridge Il
Posts: 386
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

You have no idea what your talking about. Eather you have been misinformed or your lying like Jeremy did to me. You have no comprehension of how I was treated as a loyal customer.
This story speaks for itself and I have proof of almost. everything Iíve said. Read and understand what your dealership has done. Everything I printed is true. Ask Bob Clegg. My problem was in letting your dealership take advantage of me and treating me the way you did and I still came back. You can make up any stories all you want. But the truth speaks for itself.




















Last edited by Bondojohn; 03-04-2019 at 09:32 PM. Reason: Sorry Didnít know it printed twice. I took it off.
Bondojohn is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:24 PM
  #8  
mschuyler
CF Senior Member
 
mschuyler's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2016
Location: Bainbridge Island WA
Posts: 3,710
Liked 2,334 Times in 1,060 Posts
Default

So you repeated your story with paragraphs, a nice improvement. But it doesn't change your story. I would fault the dealer--for not cutting you off after the first time. I'm glad they got a chance to tell the rest of the story, which they did while still being very gracious to you. Class act on their part.
mschuyler is online now  
The following 3 users liked this post by mschuyler:
ladder13 (03-04-2019), Monkey D. Luffy (03-06-2019), Rebel Yell (03-04-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 07:24 PM
  #9  
Bondojohn
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bondojohn's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2015
Location: Park Ridge Il
Posts: 386
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AceG View Post
As a business owner, I am leaning towards the dealership on this one simply because OP confirmed what the dealership is saying. It doesnt matter how much business you give to the dealership. Nitpicking and refusing the car after ordering the car and on top of that the dealership tried to fix any problems is definetely on the customers fault.

No way in hell would I continue ordering cars for the customer either. These ordered cars dont get to be exchanged for new cars.
You must work for the dealer. After accepting and buying 2 new corvettes that cost about $180,000 that came damaged who would accept another $90,000 car that the door needed painting especially when I told the dealership I would not accept another car that was damaged. If he didnít agree to my agreement I told him Iíd go elsewhere. I donít know why in hell I went back there.
Bondojohn is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:27 PM
  #10  
PatternDayTrader
CF Senior Member
 
PatternDayTrader's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2008
Location: Lansing MI and Houston TX
Posts: 9,196
Liked 772 Times in 597 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bondojohn View Post
You must work for the dealer. After accepting and buying 2 new corvettes that cost about $180,000 that came damaged who would accept another $90,000 car that the door needed painting especially when I told the dealership I would not accept another car that was damaged. If he didnít agree to my agreement I told him Iíd go elsewhere. I donít know why in hell I went back there.
Were they really damaged ? Or just not the show car you were hoping for.
PatternDayTrader is online now  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:40 PM
  #11  
DALE#3
CF Senior Member
 
DALE#3's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2013
Location: Kannapolis MA.
Posts: 4,380
Liked 946 Times in 664 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bondojohn View Post
You have no idea what your talking about. Every now and then I enjoyed taking a ride up there to get the free hand car wash
I just have to jump in.Guy,Couple things that i find odd.These are mass produced.Not one at a time special order Rolls Royces.The price reflects that.
Paint jobs ain't a 2 day wet sand job like KANDIG Design.
Dealers have guidelines set by GM.What is and what is acceptable.
What is really ODD you let the Dealer Wash the car??
Are you Shitting Me??
That is all...Your Happy Now,Right? Today?
DALE#3 is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:46 PM
  #12  
Vet Interested
CF Senior Member
 
Vet Interested's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2005
Location: (R. Bernardo) San Diego, California
Posts: 4,050
Liked 550 Times in 419 Posts
Default

I am with the dealer on this one. The customer from hell has left the dealer!
Vet Interested is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:47 PM
  #13  
PatternDayTrader
CF Senior Member
 
PatternDayTrader's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2008
Location: Lansing MI and Houston TX
Posts: 9,196
Liked 772 Times in 597 Posts
Default

Yeah this thread isn't going to turn out well for the OP.
PatternDayTrader is online now  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:50 PM
  #14  
Elk
CF Senior Member
 
Member Since: Dec 2000
Location: Afton, Minnesota
Posts: 831
Liked 73 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bondojohn View Post
But the truth speaks for itself.
Great. Then please stop now.

We have seen the story. Twice. It does not improve upon retelling.
Elk is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:51 PM
  #15  
DTOM
CF Senior Member
 
Member Since: Sep 2017
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Liked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I've had nothing but absolutely great experiences with Stasek and every single person that works for Jeremy - I mean everyone. My first, and certainly not my last, 2019 Z06/Z07 Corvette was purchased from Stasek.

In the past year, I've sent a handful of friends and family to them. Why?...I trust them. Trust and car dealership are almost never used in the same sentence.

As you mentioned, the family atmosphere is great. Every time I walk into the place I'm greeted by my first name by Jeremy and my salesman, Kurt.

It sounds like they've bent over backwards to make you happy with tiny, common, known C7 blemishes from the factory. I'd be hard pressed if wherever you bought your new C7 from that they would do the same.

I find it hard to believe that Jeremy would make those statements to anyone - he's one of nicest guys in the industry.

Last edited by DTOM; 03-04-2019 at 08:04 PM.
DTOM is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:58 PM
  #16  
ladder13
CF Senior Member
 
ladder13's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2006
Location: Wake County, NC
Posts: 2,324
Liked 36 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Open can, worms everywhere.
ladder13 is offline  
The following users liked this post: ladder13
03worthy4link (03-05-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 08:26 PM
  #17  
Bondojohn
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bondojohn's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2015
Location: Park Ridge Il
Posts: 386
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AceG View Post
As a business owner, I am leaning towards the dealership on this one simply because OP confirmed what the dealership is saying. It doesnt matter how much business you give to the dealership. Nitpicking and refusing the car after ordering the car and on top of that the dealership tried to fix any problems is definetely on the customers fault.

No way in hell would I continue ordering cars for the customer either. These ordered cars dont get to be exchanged for new cars.
Get your facts right. An ordered car is a new car not titled and can be sold to any customer as new. Itís no different than any other car a dealer orders.
Bondojohn is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:35 PM
  #18  
AceG
CF Senior Member
 
Member Since: May 2015
Posts: 635
Likes: 0
Liked 138 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bondojohn View Post
Get your facts right. An ordered car is a new car not titled and can be sold to any customer as new. Itís no different than any other car a dealer orders.
My facts are straight. Not everyone wants your options. What if you selected an option that was harder to sell? The dealer is now sitting on it. What i meant was you cant take a perfectly good car that YOU ordered and decide because its not up to your standard you will get to order another one. I would of fired you after refusal of the first car. No i dont work for a dealership either.

Last edited by AceG; 03-04-2019 at 08:36 PM.
AceG is offline  
The following 3 users liked this post by AceG:
[email protected] (03-04-2019), Monkey D. Luffy (03-06-2019), Rebel Yell (03-04-2019)
Old 03-04-2019, 08:45 PM
  #19  
direct007
CF Senior Member
 
direct007's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2004
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 1,500
Liked 387 Times in 236 Posts
Default

Sometimes bad luck happens between a buyer and seller.. There is another forum member that posted a similar experience with another dealer. When I questioned why he went back to the selling dealer after his first lemon experience he said because of price. At that point, I just shook my head and thought to myself... isn’t it worth spending a little more to avoid the time and aggravation trying to get things fixed?

When it happens twice and the dealer’s hands are tied based on what GM is authorizing. I think it’s in the best interests of both the buyer and seller to sever ties. I also question GM’s policies if the car was truly defective.
direct007 is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:49 PM
  #20  
Bondojohn
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bondojohn's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2015
Location: Park Ridge Il
Posts: 386
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Hey John,

I hope you've been well, over the years we've tried to make you a happy customer and satisfied with the experience but unfortunately after many cars ordered and not taken due to the factory blemishes you found unacceptable we couldn't continue to order cars for you (we still have two cars sitting here that you ordered previously from over a year ago). On the most recent purchase our understanding was that we would have the opportunity to fix the car in our body shop should you find issue with the quality of the car delivered from Chevrolet. Upon the car coming in you took issue with the cars condition we offered to correct it in the body shop, this was the direction given to us by Chevrolet as well (but also what we agreed to prior to the order). As for the dash stitching we ordered and returned multiple panels and eventually we couldn't get GM to authorize sending out any more panels. We wish you all the best but please understand we only have so much control over the production practices of the factory.

Best Regards -

Brent Baker

Sales & Internet Marketing Manager
Corvette Manager & Callaway Specialist

847-537-7000

Bill Stasek Chevrolet
700 W. Dundee
Wheeling, IL 60090
No one read this. Iím explaining it again for Brent. If your the same Brent I know weíve always had a good relashionship.
If you need any clarification of this You can call me. Please het your facts right. They never did nor would they ever replace the door panel to fix the problem even though it was under warranty. Iíll say this one more time to. . After ďĒacceptingĒĒ two cars, I didnít turn them down. Prior to ordering the 3rd car I went to Bob the sales man and told him I would not accept another car if it was damaged in a way that was unexceptional to me. If he didnít agree I would go to a diffent different dealer and order the car elseware. It was up to him and the boss. He left and returned and said Jeremy agreed to this. They made so much money on me with all my business I feel itís there loss not mine.
Bondojohn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bad dealership experience


Sponsored Ads
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: