Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Tiger striping in metallic paint

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2018, 01:59 AM
masonbrian
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiger striping in metallic paint

I'm having problems with tiger striping in my paint. This is my first time spraying a metallic paint. My gun is a hvlp I'm running about 35psi at the gun. So any tips I can get spraying metalics will be very helpful. Any tips guys am I set too high psi holding the gun too close spray gun not set right etc. I'm using the same technique painting I do with any other paint left to right or up and down.
Old 06-10-2018, 02:21 AM
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts

Most likely a pressure issue. What kind of gun are you using? Before I take my first pass on any vehicle, I adjust my gun on a huge piece of paper that I tape to the wall. Hold it at the distance you're going to spray and do a quick trigger pull. I'm betting when you do that you'll see that you're heavy at the top and bottom of the pattern based on what the issue is you state you're experiencing. Drop the pressure down a little and do it again... again... again, until it's right. IF you're getting to a point where you feel the pressure is too low and it's still heavy at the top and bottom, bump the pressure up a little and close the flow down some and go through the pressure steps again. Metallics and pearls can't be hosed on like a solid color can. Also, after you've got the required coats "to cover" on, you HAVE to do a drop coat. If you get your gun dialed in on the wall and still have tiger stripes then it's time to talk about technique. However, based on what you wrote I'm assuming you know how to properly move a gun around. We love pictures here

Last edited by 13611; 06-10-2018 at 02:35 AM. Reason: Added
Old 06-10-2018, 02:52 AM
masonbrian
Heel & Toe

Using a cheap gun from Walmart. What is a drop coat?
Old 06-10-2018, 09:55 AM
DUB
Race Director