Solvent pop

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2018, 05:28 AM
monte k
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Solvent pop

https://photos.app.goo.gl/w9HrtFFsfJKYyo157Hi
first of all im just learning,i recently painted mt 84 vette,i ended up with what im told is Solvent Pop.
im wondering how is the best way to cure it?
I used all Tamco products,prime,base,and
clear.ive resanded 800,1000,1500,2000.

Monte
Andetson,IN

Last edited by monte k; 09-12-2018 at 05:31 AM.
Old 09-12-2018, 09:24 AM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Your photo did very little to no good on seeing the surface adn the solvent pops. I know it is hard to get these to show up in a photo due to the lighting and angle of the photo is critical for them to bee seen.

I assume that you had raised bubbles all on the top surface???

When you wet out the surface with water...can you see these small bubbles deep in the clear???

I know this only way to repair this is to apply more clear BUT that is not so easy due to the small air bubbles that are now open and you have millions of small open cups. Trying top get the clear into them is hard to do and it will require the clear to be thinned drastically so it can flow into these small craters.

IF the air bubbles from the solvent pops are down in the clear...then you either have to live with it....or repaint that area to cover them and then re-clear. Obviously you should not apply clear on a sanded surface that as been sanded to 2000 grit.
It will need to be sanded with something like 500 grit wet.

DUB
Old 09-12-2018, 09:49 AM
derekd8915
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

How did the base coat look, if it is just the clear that is a problem you can use “scuff stuff” it remove just the clear coat. It is a gel with a little grit in it and can be applied with a scotch bright pad. Let the product do the work and do not press too firm.
Old 09-12-2018, 09:57 AM
derekd8915
Instructor