Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Engine Bay

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2018, 09:54 PM
twinpack
Drifting

Received 349 Likes on 155 Posts

Default Engine Bay

I've been restoring this 68 convertible for 7 years now. I'm in the engine bay at this point. I've sanded the complete bay. It was black as expected but umder the black was the original body color (Corvette Bronze). Anyway I need advice on the steps and materials to repaint. Do I need to use a polyester primer, sealer primer and than paint? All in put is appreciated. The engine bay again is sanded and scuffed up. I did manage to expose fiberglass in various spots. No way to avoid that.
Thanks,
Peter
Old 12-02-2018, 09:15 AM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

A lot of it depends on how nice you want it to look.

YES...you can go in and apply a polyester primer and then sand it so you can seal it and then paint it.

OR...you can go in and apply PPG black epoxy primer and then paint on it. The possibility to very little to no sanding may be needed. The PPG epoxy primer DP90LV can be lightly sanded on and if the roughness in your exposed fiberglass areas. You can get it to fill those areas in.by applying more on it. AS you will see in the information below. The 'window' of time that the PPG epoxy primer can allow paint to be applied on it is quite long as how I read it but you can confirm this by calling them.

https://www.nedsautobodysupply.com/P...er_1_11_1_.pdf

The PPG DP90LF really does not like to be sanded on and it more of a 'wet-on-wet' type of primer so-to-speak.

At the bottom of the information I provided is the 1-800 phone number to PPG and if you have specific questions. I would call them so IF the information provided does not make sense or you have questions that are not being answered in that information. CALL THEM and ask.